Community Engagement

6 Weeks of Welcome Infographic - Big Red Welcome at University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Monday, October 16, 2017

Read more about Six Weeks of Welcome and countless activities


Student members of the Character Council march in the homecoming parade at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln to honor Dr. Juan N. Franco.
Monday, September 25, 2017

Read more about Juan Franco honored during homecoming events


Students color pages from the Women's Center.
Tuesday, September 12, 2017

Read more about New student leadership retreat to focus on inclusive leadership


Participants in the Mandela Fellows program sort donations to the Homeless Prevention Center.
Tuesday, July 11, 2017

Read more about Mandela Fellows say Nebraska fosters a culture of giving


Franco's List recipients, spring 2017
Friday, April 21, 2017

Read more about 43 students honored for character and civic engagement


University of Nebraska-Lincoln Big Red Talk with Tyler Riewer of charity:water
Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Read more about Tyler Riewer of charity:water kicks off Big Red Talks


Contestants slice bread
Monday, March 13, 2017

Read more about Student cooking competition inspires delectable dishes


Students share their thoughts with politicians at the Night of Listening at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Thursday, February 23, 2017

Read more about Students share their hopes for the future at the Night of Listening


Night of Listening flyer
Sunday, February 12, 2017

Read more about Center for Civic Engagement to host Night of Listening


Monday, January 23, 2017

Read more about MLK Week encourages reflection and rallying


Franco's List recipients for fall 2016
Monday, November 21, 2016

Read more about Recipients of Franco's List and Give Back. Big. Awards Announced


Students load donation barrels to give back to the Lincoln community
Monday, November 14, 2016

Read more about Dare to Care Encourages Students to Collect Food for the Lincoln Community


Friday, October 14, 2016

Read more about ASUN Helps Students Register to Vote


Tuesday, October 11, 2016

Read more about Big Changes in the Community Through Give Back. Big.


"University of Nebraska-Lincoln students volunteer as part of the 9/11 Day of Service and Remembrance
Tuesday, September 13, 2016

Read more about Students Participate in National Day of Service


Students assist with 2015 income taxes through the Volunteer Income Tax Assistance program
Friday, August 19, 2016

Read more about $1.9 Million in Grants and Sponsorships Fund Student Affairs Programs


Global Leadership Retreat multicultural hands with globe
Friday, March 11, 2016

Read more about Getting to Know Our Global Neighbors


SUSI students from Africa participate in volunteer projects for Habitat for Humanity and a food bank
Thursday, March 10, 2016

Read more about A Shared Learning Experience with Africa


Big Changes in the Community Through Give Back. Big.

Through Give Back. Big., the Center for Civic Engagement provides monetary support to Nebraska students and organizations who want to make a difference but do not have enough financial resources to execute their plans.

“Anyone who has a desire to serve their community can do so, and we can support them in this endeavor through Give Back. Big.,” said graduate student assistant Phillip Foster.

Congressman Leads Democracy Discussion with Students

On Monday, Oct. 24, Rep. Jeff Fortenberry joined a crowd of more than 60 attendees to share his ideas on democracy and answer questions. The event, called The Future of Democracy, was hosted by the Association of Students at the University of Nebraska (ASUN), the Department of Political Science and the Center for Civic Engagement.

Pages