Student achievements applauded at Student Impact Awards

Friday, April 7, 2017 Student achievements applauded at Student Impact Awards

Daryl Swanson Campus Life Impact Award 2017, Hope IV Us

On Thursday, April 6, Student Involvement honored outstanding contributions and efforts by Recognized Student Organizations (RSOs), RSO leaders and advisors at the Student Impact Awards.

Students, administrators, advisors and honored guests enjoyed light snacks as they filled the tables in the Centennial Room. Following a choreographed performance by the UNL Hip Hop Dance Club, Nick Ames, assistant director for student organizations, and Reshell Ray, associate director of east campus programs and Student Involvement, welcomed guests and praised students for their many organizational achievements.

Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs Juan N. Franco opened with the first award, the Daryl Swanson Campus Life Impact Award. This award honors an RSO that has made a significant impact on the campus or student life. The 2017 recipient was Hope IV Us, an organization that strives to bring awareness to mental illnesses in adolescents and young adults through resources and education. Award namesake Daryl Swanson, past director of the Nebraska Unions and a dedicated advocate for students, helped present the award to the student leaders.

Director of Student Involvement Veronica Riepe presented the remaining awards. Winners were as follows:

Outstanding New Student Organization
Asian American Student Union

Outstanding Member
Daniel Fell, Engineering Student Advisory Board

Commitment Recruitment
UNL Werewolves of Miller Hollow Club

Outstanding Officer
Taylor Gehring, Scarlet Guard

Outstanding Student Organization Sustainability
ASUN Environmental Sustainability Committee and Earthstock

Philanthropy and Service Award
Save South Sudanese Orphans and Widows

Student Leadership Award
Jon Duerschner

Diversity and Inclusion Award
Society of Women Engineers

Outstanding New Advisor
Hailey Daehnke, UNL Rodeo Association

Outstanding Advisor
Dr. Shannon Bartelt-Hunt, Engineers Without Borders

Outstanding President
Dillon Thoman, Scarlet Guard

Program of the Year
E-Week, Engineering Student Advisory Board

Outstanding Student Organization
Mexican American Student Association

View the photo gallery.

More News About:
Student Affairs Students Student Involvement Staff Faculty