Intramural flag football teams head to national competition

Monday, December 4, 2017 Intramural flag football teams head to national competition

(Top) 'Diablos' co-rec team members; (Lower) 'Huskers' women's team members.

The University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s intramural co-rec team ‘Diablos’ and women’s team ‘Huskers’ won their divisions in the NIRSA’s Regional Flag Football Tournament hosted November 11-12, 2017 at Cook Pavilion. Both teams receive automatic bids to compete at the NIRSA National Tournament on January 5-7, 2018 at the University of West Florida in Pensacola. Thirty-three teams from 16 states competed in the regional tournament with divisions for men’s, women’s, co-rec, and Special Olympic teams.

Nebraska players also won individual awards during the weekend events. Brook McCluskey and Greg Shafe were named the tournament’s women MVP and co-rec MVP, respectively; additional players named to the All-Tournament Team are Kesley Knecht and Anh Nguyen.

‘Diablos’ co-rec team members: Sarah Porath, Megan Sharp, Kelsey Knecht, Anh Nguyen, Presley Smith, Brook McCluskey, Monica Dunn, Greg Shafe, Josh Peterson, and Kristian Cornwell.

‘Huskers’ women's team members: Brook McCluskey, Kelsey Knecht, Megan Sharp, Presley Smith, Monica Dunn, McKenna Thorngren, Sarah Porath, and Hope Wilke.

In addition to teams and player awards, student Logan Lewis was named All-Tournament Sports Official and will officiate games at the national tournament.

More News About:
Students Campus Recreation