James V. Griesen Exemplary Service to Students Award Recipients

Established in 1986 as the Chancellor’s Exemplary Service to Students Award and renamed in 2006 as the James V. Griesen Exemplary Service to Students Award, this award acknowledges extraordinary and sustained performance by individuals serving Nebraska students. All UNL employees are eligible for nomination, and nominations may be made by a UNL student, faculty member, staff member or administrator. The following individuals have received this honorable distinction.

Year Honoree College/Unit
2022 Ann Marie Pollard
Pat Tetreault
Hixson-Lied College of Fine and Performing Arts
LGBTQA+ Center & Women's Center
2021 Susan Moore Student Advocacy & Support
2020 John Lenich
Carrie Fitzwater
College of Law
University Housing
2019 Roger Hoy Biological Systems Engineering
2018 Nicole Smith College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources
2017 Kelly Payne
Jan Deeds
Women's Center
2016 Linda Schwartzkopf Office of Fraternity & Sorority Life
2015 Jake Kirkland Office of Academic Success & Intercultural Services
2014 Michael Goff Journalism
2013 Vicki Highstreet Campus Recreation
2012 Aaron Duncan Communication Studies
2011 Rosalee Swartz Women & Gender Studies
2010 Leslie Marquart Chemistry
2009 Charles Riedesel Computer Science
2008 Reshell Ray Student Involvement
2007 Susan K. Voss College of Agricultural Sciences & Natural Resources
2006 Barb Wright-Chollet
Don Gregory
Student Affairs
General Education
2005 Linda Moody Center for Civic Engagement
2004 Dennis Leblanc Athletics
2003 William Lyons College of Law
2002 James Griesen Student Affairs
2001 Mark Powell Agricultural Research
2000 Pat McBride Student Affairs
1999 Jay Fitzgerald Agronomy
1998 Robert Bergstrom English
1997 Ann Kopera Arts & Sciences
1996 Keith Zimmer Athletics
1995 Dorothy McEwen Anthropology
1994 Ann Pettus
1993 Joseph Kraus Music
1992 Patrice Berger Honors Program
1991 Jayne Wade Anderson
1990 Margaret Nellis
1989 Sam Treves Geology
1988 Helen Moore Sociology
1987 Luis Diaz-Perdomo Counseling & Psychological Services
1986 Shirley Thomsen